Todd Rutherford_ Roger Kirby

Rep. Todd Rutherford re-elected as House Democratic Leader; Rep. Roger Kirby elected Assistant Leader

2 mins read

(Columbia, SC) – State Representative Todd Rutherford (D-Richland) was re-elected to his position as Minority Leader during a meeting of the House Democratic Caucus Tuesday morning.

“It’s an honor to be re-elected as the leader of the House Democratic Caucus,” Rutherford said. “We recognize the challenges ahead and we are ready to work harder than ever to protect our freedoms and move our state forward.”

Rutherford was first elected to the State House in 1998 and has served as Minority Leader since 2013. During his time leading Democrats in the State house, Rutherford has been on the frontlines of the fight to legalize medical marijuana, modernize state gaming laws to provide revenue for infrastructure and public education, and protect a woman’s right to choose.

Rep. Roger Kirby (D-Florence) was elected Assistant Democratic Leader, replacing Rep. Russell Ott (D-Calhoun) who did not seek re-election to the caucus leadership position. Kirby was first elected in 2014 and has been active in his community as the president of the Lake City Rotary Club, president of the Pee Dee Realtor Association, and the music minister at Lake City First Baptist Church. A native of Lake City, he represents House District 101 which includes Williamsburg, Florence, and Berkeley counties.

“Thank you to my colleagues for putting their trust in me as their new Assistant Leader,” Kirby said. “Rural communities in South Carolina need a voice and I am grateful for the opportunity to bring the issues facing these communities to the forefront this legislative session.”

Rep. Chandra Dillard (D-Greenville) was re-elected as Deputy Leader. Dillard was first elected in 2008 and currently serves on the House Ways and Means Committee, which plays an instrumental role in the state budget every year. A native of Greenville, Dillard works as the Director of Community Relations for Furman University. 

The following positions were also elected:

  • Rep. Jermaine Johnson (D-Richland), Secretary
  • Rep. Kambrell Garvin (D-Richland), Treasurer
  • Rep. Leon Stavrinakis (D-Charleston), Parliamentarian
  • Rep. Michael F. Rivers, Sr. (D-Beaufort), Chaplain

The PalmettoEye highlights the people, places, events, and culture of the Palmetto state through the lens of native South Carolinians. With curated news, editorials, videos, podcasts, and photo essays, we share a unique view of life and living in South Carolina. The PalmettoEye is also your place for discovering cultural and historic landmarks from around the state as well as events and attractions to watch out for and the latest in dining and shopping and other noteworthy attributes that make the Palmetto State one of the world’s most beautiful places with smiling faces.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Epic museum party Arts & Draughts returns November 11

Next Story

NAI Columbia Facilitates Sale of Future Mixed-Use Development in West Columbia

Latest from Politics